STOP PRESS Irish Food Writers Guild Awards

The Ballygowan/ Irish Food Writers’ Guild Awards were presented at a lunch at L’Ecrivain, Dubin’s latest Michelin starred restaurant, where chef/proprietor Derry Clarke, winner of no less than 3 Awards at the recent FOOD & WINE Magazine/Evian Restaurant of The Year Awards, cooked up an absolute storm , using the produce of the 4 awards winners, plus the wonderful biodynamic orange apples of Penny Lange, herself no stranger to IFWG accredition.

Winners were: Frank Hederman, Ireland’s prime smoker (of mussels, mackerel salmon and eels) from Cobh; James Mc Geough of Oughterard, Co Galway with his wonderful lamb sausage, salami and pate; Pat Doherty of Enniskillen, Co Fermanagh of amazing black bacon and smoked lamb fame and, last but not least, Silke Cropp of Drumlin and Corleggy Cheese.

Silke Cropp deservedlywon the overall award, for the excellence of her own cheeses and for the help that she has given to other Irish cheesmakers, including Maya Binder from Co Kerry. One of the world’s nice people and a fantastic cheesemaker – with her produce in Sheridans, London’s Neal’s Yard and her own stall on the Temple Bar Market, Silke thoroughly deserves her success.

Many notable foodies were at the presentation, including Darina Allen whose first appearance at an Irish Food Writer’s Guild function for years surprised many members of the Guild.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]